Header image for Auctioneers' Association of Alberta
Hello Guest Login

Media Release 2018 Post Convention

Media Release
The Auctioneers Association of Alberta held its’84th Annual Convention at the Denham Inn, Leduc on February 1, 2 and 3rd, 2018. There were approximately 135 people in attendance.

Dale Menzak of Vegreville was elected President. Wade Michener from Calgary was elected Vice President . John Arnold, Lethbridge is our Past President.

There was six positions open for directors. Re-elected for three years were Joe Perlich, Lethbridge, Andrew Reeleder, Bentley. Newly elected for three years were Tracey Pollard, Edmonton, Mickey Spencer, Fort Saskatchewan, Jason Philp, Didsbury. Rod Burnett, West Kelowna was elected for one year. The remaining directors are Dale Menzak, Pete Conway, Darrell Domes, Justin Mayer and Wade Michener. Bill Henke is liaison for BC auctioneers. Lorraine Klepper is Secretary-treasurer.

This year we held our first Bid Catching Competition. 18 members participated. Dave  Irvine from Calgary took away the belt buckle.

We held our eighth annual All Around Canadian Auctioneer Championship. We had 23 auctioneers registered for the competition. Champion was Shawn Gist from Fort Saskatchewan, Bobby Miller from Eckville placed second, and Rod Snopek from Tees placed third. Ryan Konynenbelt, Nobleford was fourth and Tyler Ruttan, Sexsmith was fifth.

The Vern Scown Memorial Tyro Contest was won by Jesse Campbell, Brandon, Manitoba. The Tyro Contest is an auction contest for auctioneers who have graduated from an auction school within the last two years. There were 11 auctioneers in the competition.

  • Bernard Florkow won the best Business Card.
  • Best web page trophy went to Team-Sekura Auctions
  • 50 year plaque and pin was presented to Art Scott, Stavely. Peter Kowalchuk and Ed Walker were 50 year members but not able to be present.
  • 40 year plaque and pin went to Brent Nixon, Peace River.
  • James Crawford, Frank Noble and Tim Sekura were the other 40 year members but not in attendance.
  • 25 year plaque and pin recipients in attendance were Corey Lawrence, Warburg, Nick Kowerchuk,Lamont and Hubert Kallen from Tilley. Not in attendance the
  • other 25 year members were Robert Bruun, Ron Henchell, John Wayne Johnson, Gerald Matzner and Don Oberg

Distinguished Service Award went to Bill Henke, BC. A very deserving honor.

There were people in attendance from BC, AB, SK, MB, ON and the US.

We had changed our Charity last year. We are now selling pictures for the Stollery in Edmonton and the Children's Hospital in Calgary. We did well this year but need all to work at selling these pictures, rather than leaving it to the same members every year.

Another new and exciting project we as an association are going to have two $500.Scholarships a year.

Next years Convention will be held in Calgary January 31, February 1 & 2nd 2019 (Mark your Calendar).

For more information call 403-340-2070.

Upcoming Auctions

Crime Stoppers

Footer image for Auctioneers' Association of Alberta